News Ticker

FCC votes to close 11 field offices

The Federal Communications Commission voted 5-0 on a plan to restructure its field offices, but not without some grumbling from both GOP commissioners who complained about the process that led to the FCC closing fewer offices over objections from Congress and broadcasters.

Offices that will remain open: Atlanta, Boston, Chicago, Columbia, MD, Dallas, Denver, Honolulu, Los Angeles, Miami, New Orleans, Portland, Ore.,  New York, and San Francisco.

Field offices that will be closed: Anchorage, Buffalo, Detroit, Houston, Kansas City, Norfolk, Philly, San Diego, San Juan, Seattle, and Tampa.

The FCC had originally proposed to close almost all of the field offices, but scaled back that plan after strong objections from Congress and broadcasters.

“This is a tough decision,” said FCC chairman Tom Wheeler. “Congress has ordered that we spend less. We’ve been told to ‘do less with less.'” Wheeler said.

“This is the beginning of the process and we’ll see that everyone is treated fairly in a difficult situation. We work with every affected employee to mitigate the impact,” Wheeler said.